From Fat to Fit

Today I did something I never in a million years thought I would do… I went for a run. It probably doesn’t seem like a big deal to anyone else, but to me its a huge thing. My aversion to exercise started when I was around 11 or 12 in the early years of secondary school. I hated PE; being forced to run 1500m around a track surrounded by skinny girls who barely broke a sweat really lowered my self-esteem. Don’t get me wrong, I was never overweight and I loved my school years, but when it came to exercise I really shied away. I couldn’t bare (and I still struggle now) being red-faced and sweaty, having to work hard just to breathe. I couldn’t see the fun in any of it – why would anyone choose to do exercise?!

But now I’m in my early twenties and today I decided that I need to kick start my life; sick of feeling lethargic and unhealthy I downloaded an app to help a beginner like me get going. I invested in a cracking sports bra to keep the girls nicely tucked away and with the app’s lady chatting away through my earphones I got started.

Not gonna lie, it was fucking hard. I felt like my chest was going to explode and I could feel my cheeks burning away. But I did it, and I enjoyed it! There was no patronising teacher yelling to go faster, there was nobody to compete with. I could go at my own pace, run where I wanted to run and do it all my own way.

The app for anyone interested is Couch to 5K and its set up by the NHS, so you can be sure that all the advice you are given is safe and healthy. I hope to improve my stamina and fitness, and hopefully lose my thunderous thighs!

I’ll keep you updated on how everything goes, but bye for now.

A x

2 thoughts on “From Fat to Fit

Leave a Reply

